Coming back

After a ridiculous long hiatus I’m coming back. I thought about starting a whole new blog, but decided that was silly so I’m just going to keep adding onto this one, but with a kind of new focus. Here’s the intro I was going to use for the new blog.

My name is Andrew Swerlick and my job is to translate geek into non-geek, and non-geek back into geek.

I take the raw, undetailed, and sometimes hairbrained schemes of executives and customers and poke, prod, ask questions, and sometimes make up stuff, until it’s whipped into some semblance of a working solution that’s feasible and practical. As far I can tell there’s no common title for what I do. To some people I’m a Business Analyst. Or maybe that’s a Systems Analyst. Or maybe a Technical Analyst. To others I’m an Technical Architect. Still others just call me a Project Manager. There are thousands like me who, in variously named positions of their own, work with the non-technical to sift out what they really need from what they think the need, what they describe they want, and what their bosses think they need. In short, I’m a problem solver.

In the over 2 years I’ve been professionally doing this (and near decade on an amateur basis) I’ve learned a lot about people, problems, and technology. This blog will be about what I’ve learned and what I’m learning, but I don’t think it will be just the techies who are interested in it. Because if I’ve learned anything, I’ve learned that the same strategies we use to solve technological problems are the ones we can use for business problems. Or government policy problems. Or life management problems. In short this a is a blog about problem solving. This is a blog about thinking through systems, and designing solutions to make them work better, using technology, people, or even just duct tape and string.

And it’s a blog about questioning the solutions that are already in place. It’s for the kind of people, who after a half an hour of corporate double speak and empty buzzwords will be the first to ask “yes but how does it actually work.” It’s for those of you that think the phrase “synergizing our capabilities to improve efficiencies” should be taken out back and shot for crimes against clarity.

If this sounds like you, then follow along. Chime in through comments or email. Ask questions, make suggestions, or flame the heck out of me for being off my rocker. Maybe this blog will help somebody out there solve a problem or two, and that’s good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

