Automatic Integration Testing With Joomla

Lately, I’ve been deviating from my .NET ways to do a small website for my brother-in-law during my spare time. He works for a artistic iron works company and they were looking for a simple visual refresh to replace their 90’s era, MS FrontPage website.

I haven’t had much experience with Joomla, but I ended up choosing it because they have a dreamhost account and joomla is a one click install. I knew it was a big name in the CMS world, and even knew someone who makes his living off Joomla sites, so I figured it had to be pretty good. Frankly, after building out much of this site in it, I’m not impressed. The UI is clunky and not even intuitive for a techy like me. The documentation is sparse at the api level. And the extension development model seems to rely fair to heavily on static methods and singletons. But what irked me the most about Joomla is how difficult it was to get a solid automated integration test up and running. Hopefully what I document here will save someone else my pain later.

Before getting to the technical how-to though, a little bit of background on why I think this is important. In the last year I’ve become a huge proponent of automated testing. In general, when I start on a new project or feature now, the first thing I do is spin up my test project. This is especially true when I’m integrating with some sort of external framework, particularly when that framework lacks solid documentation. A good set of quickly executing automated integration tests are the fastest way to vet my assumptions about how a framework behaves with reality.

So that’s what I set out to create when I realized I would need to develop a joomla module. The goal of my module was simple. I was using the K2 joomla extension to let my users create photogalleries. I wanted a rollup module that would take the first photo from every gallery in the site, and render a slideshow out of those, with links back to each individual gallery. Following the guides I found on module development, I created a helper.php file to do the heavy lifting. Then I set out to create a test project to test that implementation.

The first sign that something was wrong, was that I couldn’t find anyone else who had tacked the same problem on google. There was a little bit about building custom applications on top of joomla, but nothing about testing. So I figured I’d just setup phpunit and hope for the best.

Right off the bat, the framework started fighting me. PHPUnit failed with no error message, just silently not running. I went back to the article on custom applications and that got me part way there, but I still had to struggle with a whole slew of missing dependency and undefined variable issues.

Eventually I got it to work with the following lines at the start of the of the file.

define('_JEXEC', 1);
define('JPATH_BASE', '/var/www/');
define('JPATH_PLATFORM', JPATH_BASE . '/libraries');
define('DS', DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR);

require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/defines.php';
require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/framework.php';
jimport( 'joomla.environment.request' );
jimport( 'joomla.application.helper');
jimport('joomla.application.application');
JFactory::getApplication('site');

$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] = "localhost";

require('');
const K2_JVERSION = 16;

Even this didn’t give me everything I needed. I kept getting infinite loop errors. Googling for that lead me to a link on github where somebody had fixed a similar error in Joomla. It turns out the actual error was in joomla’s exception throwing mechanism. Whenever Joomla tried to throw an error in the integration test, it got caught in an infinite loop and just reported the generic infinite loop exception.

Since this testing was on a dev machine, I decided the easiest fix would be to edit the joomla files themselves to print out the stack trace whenever and infinite loop detected. The file I edited was /libraries/joomla/error/error.php, replacing the generic error message on line 201 with the code to print a full backtrace
jexit(JText::_('JLIB_ERROR_INFINITE_LOOP')."\n".$exception->getMessage()."\n".$exception->getTraceAsString()."\n".$exception->getLine()."\n");

Only after all that could I successfully run an automated integration test against joomla.

I don’t want to criticize a platform I’ve done so little with, but the complete lack of documentation on basic automated testing doesn’t speak highly of the development enviroment Joomla has created. I hope this contribution helps someone else in my boat at least get started, and the joomla devs start thinking about how to bake this sort of testing process into the platform more directly.

Leave a Reply

